Blog of a new RPGer

[Review] CthulhuTech “Dark Passions”

Posted in Review, RPG General by misterecho on February 6, 2010

I’ve played a great deal of 1920’s Cthulhu since my recent introduction to it,  and loved it. I never thought it would translate well into a modern setting… I was very wrong! The art alone has me inspired to run a modern setting with Lovecraft’s weird and creepy “twist”. Throughout H.P. Lovecraft’s work you get a sense of reality but not quite as we know it. It’s like viewing our own world through a steamy window. CthulhuTech has captured this well in my opinion.

“Dark passions” has myriad of stuff on the impact of cults on the world; from their recruitment methods to the government organisations which monitor them. I like the NPCs included. They are well filled out with a good mixture of Fluff and crunch. There is short stories sprinkled throughout the book, perfect for inspiration for that twisted adventure factory of a brain you have. I really like the stories not only for the quality fiction, but also the nice breakup they offer in the text. Nobody likes reading from a PDF, these little stanzas provide nice little spice to a cool book. Like pepper (sic) 🙂

My two favourite aspects of the book is the art and the dense content on cults, there are ALOT of cults in here with plenty backstory. Perfect for slotting seamlessly into your current campaign or as inspiration for that story arc you’ve been plotting.

The art is fantastic. Good art in a game book always adds a great deal towards their usability in my opinion. For me; if a book is beautiful, I end up reading it more often.

What I liked; The top quality art, the creepy fiction, NPC fluff and the heart of the book the Cults.

The only thing I think could have been done a little better is the layout of the NPC crunch. The stats for the NPCs are all run squished up in a sentence rather than an easier to read table format. However this is a minor gripe and to fix it would have increased page count significantly, therefore reducing the cool content. So I’ll let you off this time Catalyst game labs.

You can buy Dark passions here. I think it’s good value for money.

Want to learn more about CthulhuTech? Read on…

Tagged with: ,

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. CthulhuTech (Atomic Array 040) said, on February 7, 2010 at 11:11 am

    […] Blog of a new RPGer: [Review] CthulhuTech “Dark Passions” […]

  2. CthulhuTech RPG (Atomic Array 013) said, on February 7, 2010 at 11:13 am

    […] Blog of a new RPGer: [Review] CthulhuTech “Dark Passions” […]

  3. Endy said, on February 14, 2010 at 6:44 am

    I hate to say this, but I really think CthulhuTech’s system is a great disservice to its setting – the amazing setting is a collection of really great ideas. I think you should read some of RPG.Net’s articles and forum posts on the game when you get the chance.

  4. […] Blog of a new RPGer: [Review] CthulhuTech “Dark Passions” […]

  5. […] Blog of a new RPGer: [Review] CthulhuTech “Dark Passions” […]

  6. […] Blog of a new RPGer: Review: Dark Passions […]

  7. OMC said, on February 23, 2010 at 11:08 am

    I hate to say this, but I really think CthulhuTech’s system is a great disservice to its setting – the amazing setting is a collection of really great ideas. I think you should read some of RPG.Net’s articles and forum posts on the game when you get the chance.

    Recognizing that taste in crunch differs, I couldn’t disagree more. I think the C-Tech rules offer a very simple system for running a game from puny human to Mech combat power levels, and operates more at the storytelling level (which they are upfront about in the books). I do prefer crunchier rules for generic systems or when I’m going to craft a setting of my own to help nail things down and even out the balance, but when you have a setting as rich and well developed as this, I don’t need the arcane minutiae of a Hero System or Battletech. On a sidenote, the chief complaints I see at RPGnet are about the facts that humans/Tagers/Engel & Mech pilots don’t mesh well in mixed groups. Its not really a fair gripe — the books lay out clearly and openly that these characters are pretty much intended to be run in separate campaign types. Mech/Engel pilots are military assets, they’re going to be sent on military missions. Tagers aren’t even known to exist to the majority of the world’s population, and they all belong to a secret society with its own agenda that doesn’t involve making its presence known. All of this stuff is consistent with the setting and basic logic. Its like their greatest complaint is that the game isn’t as like Rifts, which is freaking hilarious considering the heaps of scorn they pour on that too. Of course, you CAN run mixed groups with more elbow grease from the GM, which considering how often these guys create and extoll the virtues of their own house rules, shouldn’t be a problem.

    Deep breath, relax…sorry for the rant. I just think its good to remember that no game is going to be all things to all people, and to remember a Bruce Lee quote: “Use only that which works, and take it from any place you can find it.” If you try the rules and find something that ain’t working for you, change it. Jeet Kune RPG-do. And to always take the griefers on RPGnet forums with a grain of salt, since the 3rd Law of Internets states that forums turn everyone into a self-proclaimed super-genius douche. I dig Endy & your blogs, I’m glad to have stumbled onto them.

  8. CthulhuTech (Atomic Array 040) | Ed Healy said, on February 28, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    […] Blog of a new RPGer: Review: Dark Passions […]

  9. […] Blog of a new RPGer: [Review] CthulhuTech “Dark Passions” […]

  10. CthulhuTech | Game Cryer said, on December 7, 2010 at 1:32 am

    […] Blog of a new RPGer: Review: Dark Passions […]

  11. […] Blog of a new RPGer: Review: Dark Passions […]


Leave a comment