Blog of a new RPGer

Character Generation by email, impossible?

Posted in RPG General by misterecho on December 23, 2009

 

Ok, I’m going to run a pathfinder game. I think having the characters 99% done before game-night, gives you more “game-night”. I understand character generation is part of the fun, but who wants to slog through the nightmare that is Pathfinder Chargen. Don’t get me wrong it’s not that I don’t like it. I love it. I don’t yet fully understand it.

I’m still new at this!

I emailed the two players step by step instructions on what they should do. I’ve had to trust them not to cheat. But if they want to cheat, hell mend ’em.

Neither of them have played pathfinder so I was expecting the usual Human, Fighter, Lawful good that I suspect is the overused default.

How pleasantly surprised I was to find human ranger and a Half-elf bard in my inbox.

The advantage I have found with this remote method is the masses of time it gives me to go through the rules, trying to work out which bonuses and modifiers go where. Perfect for a newbie. Now it’s all generated I can also work on an adventure, knowing what characters I have helps to lubricate cogs in the old ideas machine.

Here’s looking forward to a good game and great Christmas!

Merry Christmas and happy Hogmanay!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Phil said, on January 4, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Good luck with the game and I hope you’ll be blogging about it regularly to keep us informed of your progress!

    The bard is an under-appreciated and under-used class archetype in my book. I hope your bard player sings and dances to suitably heroic effect 🙂

  2. misterecho said, on January 4, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    I hope stuart reads this! I can’t wait to see him sing his way out of trouble! Although I’m sure he’ll never play a bard again. 😀

  3. Captain Beaky said, on January 7, 2010 at 10:35 am

    My first thought was a Human Fighter (although I was going to be straight Good rather than Lawful Good)! How predictable am I!!!

    • misterecho said, on January 7, 2010 at 11:05 am

      I posted this with you in mind Peter! I wouldn’t of minded getting a fighter in the party. That way the party is a little bit stronger on the combat side. But I think we can do well with what we have. It will be alot more interesting to Roleplay this way too.


Leave a Reply

