Blog of a new RPGer

Getting ready for my first GM attempt.

Posted in RPG General by misterecho on November 20, 2009

Star Wars Role-Playing Game 1987.jpg

Ok, it’s my turn to GM. I’m really intimidated but excited too.

I’ve chosen to do star wars D6 by west end games (1st edition) as it’s a universe i have fond memories of, everyone knows and its a fairly simple rules system. Its also one of the very few books i own. 

I’ve used the myriad of resources available at rancor pit. What an excellent Forum. If any of you guys want to get back into starwars D6 head over there! It’s an excellent site.

We have done most of the Character generation over Email. We are raring to go. I have gathered all my plot ideas and possible choices for my custom adventure.

I am going to rely heavily on my improvisation skills. I have no idea what choices my players are going to make! But i’m ready with a list of plot hooks, a couple of possible outcomes, some obstacles to direct them without railroading and a good list of NPCs.

The main idea is to get a good balance between Roleplay and combat. I suppose thats every GMs job. I just need to remember that it’s all about the players having fun, and not running the worst game ever played!

Wish me luck. 🙂

Tagged with: , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. newbiedm said, on November 21, 2009 at 1:03 am

    I love that game, good luck. DnD and d6 SW are my two rpg loves.
    I was lucky enough to play d6 at gencon with Monte Cook, and some guys from EnWorld. Good times.
    And yes, the rancor pit is a great resource, I downloaded their fan made sourcebooks and even printed some out. Good times, although my choice was 2nd ed.

    • misterecho said, on November 21, 2009 at 8:18 am

      Thanks for the encouragment. I chose 1st edition because its the one i own 🙂 if i find a 2ed revised on ebay for a decent price i will snap it up!

  2. Captain Beaky said, on November 30, 2009 at 11:46 am

    The front cover on 1st ed is a classic – much better than 2nd Ed. As everyone knows, illustrations in RPG books are more important than the rules 😉


Leave a Reply

