Blog of a new RPGer

To buy or not to buy?

Posted in RPG General by misterecho on November 2, 2009

I like books, i like the way they feel, the way they smell. Generally everything about them. RPG books are expensive. £32 for the new Pathfinder book, its a lot of game time for your money i’m sure, but for me £32 is  luxuary purchase. Especially when you consider the quality of the free RPGs you can get at

One thousand monkey’s

The Free RPG Blog

The Free RPG Compendium

Today i ordered Pathfinder core rulebook. I can’t wait! But alas we have a postal strike here in Sunny Scotland.

I have loads of free RPG stuff to work through!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rob Lang said, on November 2, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Thanks for the links!

    I agree that having a book in your hand is definitely something all free authors should aspire to. Get the book out as a PDF for free, get some recognition and feedback (even a review) and then create a print copy on Lulu for those who want to take it to their table without the hassle of printing it.

    For Icar, the biggest feedback I got from Gen Con was that they wanted a print version. With a print version, there was little they could do to not play it. I think this is true of many free RPGs.

    • misterecho said, on November 2, 2009 at 9:19 pm

      Hi Rob,

      I’m a huge fan of free RPG material. I have a self-printed version of Big hearts in a big country sitting in front of me now.

      I would love to be able to buy a colour softcover, even if i only play it once. I don’t have the “fancy full colour, duplex, laser, mega printer of +5 quality” Therefore the effort yourself and other Authors go to is somewhat wasted. Its a bit of an injustice when a beautifully rendered masterpiece such as icar gets spat out of my college printer when the librarian isn’t looking.

      Its also a right royal pain trying to lookup rules, quotes etc in a printed pdf.
      But they are free, excellent quality and often very innovative due to no profit margin constraints.

      So don’t take my ramblings as complaint. Its just a simple longing to make a nearly perfect thing a little more perfect.

  2. Adaen of Bridgewater said, on November 6, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Thanks for the kind words. I’m glad my review was helpful. I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on the game after you’ve taken it for a spin.

    ~AoB


Leave a Reply

